In full: the MPs demanding action to stop children going hungry in school holidays

A drive to stop children going hungry in the school holidays by serving them free food has been backed by more than 110 MPs of all parties.

They are calling for councils to face a legal duty to provide food for up to three million children who would otherwise risk malnutrition and damage to their health and school performance.

Local authorities are also being urged to set up fun projects for pupils to occupy their time with positive activities.

A Bill backing the move which will be presented to the Commons on Monday to coincide with the start of the new school year in many areas.

A recent report by the parliamentary group on hunger found that poorer children who do not eat properly in the holidays fall an extra month behind their peers in the new term.

It has suggested that £41.5m from the new sugary drinks levy could be ring-fenced to help councils foot the bill.

Frank Field, the former Labour welfare minister who is tabling the Bill, said the measure would mean the summer holiday of 2017 was the last in which many children went hungry.

He said:”If the Prime Minister were to pick up this bill and run with it, at nil extra cost to the Government, she would tackle overnight one of the great injustices afflicting children in this country: a widening of inequalities at school caused by a lack of food during the holidays. Likewise she would immediately be cutting off one of the main supply routes to food banks.”

The list of Labour, Conservative, SNP, Democratic Unionist, Green, Liberal Democrat and independent MPs who have registered support for the School Holidays (Meals and Activities) Bill:

1. Frank Field (Labour)

2. Graham Brady (Conservative)

3. Philippa Whitford (Scottish National Party)

4. Emma Lewell-Buck (Labour)

5. Heidi Allen (Conservative)

6. Nicky Morgan (Conservative)

7. Sir Oliver Letwin (Conservative)

8. Jacob Rees-Mogg (Conservative)

9. Sir Nicholas Soames (Conservative)

10. Dan Poulter (Conservative)

11. Ruth Smeeth (Labour)

12. Albert Owen (Labour)

13. Alex Cunningham (Labour)

14. Alex Sobel (Labour)

15. Andy Slaughter (Labour)

16. Angela Eagle (Labour)

17. Ann Coffey (Labour)

18. Anna McMorrin (Labour)

19. Anna Turley (Labour)

20. Barry Sheerman (Labour)

21. Caroline Lucas (Green)

22. Caroline Spelman (Conservative)

23. Carolyn Harris (Labour)

24. Catherine McKinnell (Labour)

25. Christopher Stephens (Scottish National Party)

26. Chris Williamson (Labour)

27. Clive Lewis (Labour)

28. Conor McGinn (Labour)

29. Dan Jarvis (Labour)

30. Zac Goldsmith (Conservative)

31. Daniel Zeichner (Labour)

32. Darren Jones (Labour)

33. Sir David Amess (Conservative)

34. David Drew (Labour)

35. David Linden (Scottish National Party)

36. Derek Twigg (Labour)

37. Eleanor Smith (Labour)

38. Emma Hardy (Labour)

39. Faisal Rashid (Labour)

40. Gareth Snell (Labour)

41. Geoffrey Cox (Conservative)

42. George Howarth (Labour)

43. Gill Furniss (Labour)

44. Graham Jones (Labour)

45. Grahame Morris (Labour)

46. Helen Goodman (Labour)

47. Helen Hayes (Labour)

48. Helen Jones (Labour)

49. Sir Henry Bellingham (Conservative)

50. Hugh Gaffney (Labour)

51. Ian Austin (Labour)

52. Ian Lucas (Labour)

53. Ian Mearns (Labour)

54. James Frith (Labour)

55. Jared O’Mara (Labour)

56. Jeremy Lefroy (Conservative)

57. Jim Shannon (Democratic Unionist Party)

58. Jo Platt (Labour)

59. Jo Stevens (Labour)

60. Joan Ryan (Labour)

61. John Grogan (Labour)

62. John Mann (Labour)

63. John Spellar (Labour)

64. John Woodcock (Labour)

65. Jon Cruddas (Labour)

66. Jonathan Reynolds (Labour)

67. Karen Buck (Labour)

68. Kate Green (Labour)

69. Kelvin Hopkins (Labour)

70. Kerry McCarthy (Labour)

71. Laura Smith (Labour)

72. Layla Moran (Liberal Democrat)

73. Lilian Greenwood (Labour)

74. Lisa Nandy (Labour)

75. Louise Ellman (Labour)

76. Louise Haigh (Labour)

77. Luciana Berger (Labour)

78. Lucy Powell (Labour)

79. Dame Margaret Beckett (Labour)

80. Dame Margaret Hodge (Labour)

81. Mark Hendrick (Labour)

82. Marsha de Cordova (Labour)

83. Matt Western (Labour)

84. Matthew Pennycook (Labour)

85. Mel Stride (Conservative)

86. Mike Kane (Labour)

87. Neil Gray (Scottish National Party)

88. Paul Farrelly (Labour)

89. Paul Williams (Labour)

90. Philip Hollobone (Conservative)

91. Preet Gill (Labour)

92. Rachel Reeves (Labour)

93. Roger Godsiff (Labour)

94. Ronnie Campbell (Labour)

95. Rosie Cooper (Labour)

96. Ruth George (Labour)

97. Sammy Wilson (Democratic Unionist Party)

98. Sandy Martin (Labour)

99. Shabana Mahmood (Labour)

100. Siobhan McDonagh (Labour)

101. Stephen Hepburn (Labour)

102. Stephen Timms (Labour)

103. Stephen Twigg (Labour)

104. Susan Elan Jones (Labour)

105. Sylvia Hermon (Independent)

106. Thelma Walker (Labour)

107. Tom Brake (Liberal Democrat)

108. Tony Lloyd (Labour)

109. Tulip Siddiq (Labour)

110. Virendra Sharma (Labour)

111. Wera Hobhouse (Liberal Democrat)

112. Wes Streeting (Labour)

113. Yasmin Qureshi (Labour)

114. Emma Dent-Coad (Labour)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

2 + ten =